which canoe to buy ??????

I am a beginner canoeist and want to buy a solo/tandem canoe that can handle up to class III and also do ok on the lakes . Which one should I go for ???

Do you want a canoe that you can
go out tandem with enough camping gear for a couple of days or more? Are you going to be in white water more than in lakes? Will you do any portaging with the canoe since weight then is an important consideration? Is speed more important than volume? Will you take a dog with you while paddling? How about fishing from the canoe?

A do-all canoe is an impossible dream that we all have when starting paddling; however, if you can refine your requirements a good compromise can be found – within reason. I now own three canoes and am planning on expanding the fleet this year with a sea kayak, or two (one for my wife).

It’s great that you’re getting into…
…canoeing, and that different paddling activities appeal to you. BUT I agree with the others-no one boat will meet all conditions. (I own a pickup AND a sedan, for different uses. And my wife likes her Miata, but I can’t get into it.) My suggestion is you get a canoe that’s good for flatwater and up to I+. With more experience, you’ll know what you really want. You may go for a fast flatwater day boat, a capacious long-distance camper, a rock-dodging river boat, etc. Or one of each! And buy used-good boats are out there, and you’re sure to be trading in a year or two. Have fun, and keep the open side up.

My advice on this

– Last Updated: Mar-19-06 4:05 PM EST –

There are plenty of boats that can handle the class III and survive to paddle the rest of the day on the lake.

One that comes to mind is the Royalex Explorer but Old Town and Mowhawk made some good ones too. The origional prospector canoes are famous for making these runs.