Which Canoe

I am new to canoeing and am trying to decide between an OT Discovery 169 or an OT Penobscot 164. The canoe would be used for camping trips as a tandem and occaisionaly solo on slow rivers and lakes.

164 nicer

– Last Updated: Jun-26-08 9:26 PM EST –

the 164 is a nicer boat to paddle.

169 is bigger.

if you require a big and stable boat for loads over 500lbs, dogs, third passengers, or serious whitewater, go with the 169.

If you will do shorter, lighter trips, and want a better solo, go with the 164.

If you will do more lake-tripping and still want some load capacity, the 174 is another option.

If you spend a bit more, the penobscots and trippers these are based on (made in Royalex) are a bit lighter, a bit stiffer, and are repairable.

good luck.

Penobscot

– Last Updated: Jun-26-08 9:12 AM EST –

The Disco is a big polyethelene boat, weighs a ton, tough to solo. It's a bit easier to turn than the Penobscot.
The Penobscot is a bit smaller, lighter, sleeker, faster and made of royalex. It solos reasonably well for a tandem boat. It's often used as a whitewater race boat.

Royalex can be easier to outfit than poly since most adhesives will not stick well to poly. A royalex boat will be stiffer and more efficient than a poly boat of similar design. IMO poly is tougher and may outlast royalex if there are many rocks involved.

So unless you need the added room or durability of the Disco I'd recomend the Penobscot.

Disco
Paddling a Discovery is like padding a bath tub. Go with the Penobscot.

Don’t be fooled!
Those crafty New Englanders have re-named the discovery series.

The Penobscot 164 is the former Discovery 164 - Poly.

The Penobscot is the Penobscot - Royalex.

Poly is inferior to Royalex because it is heavier and can’t be repaired. However, it is tough, and cheap, and paddles similarly. It is also quite good at taking abrasion.

If you are looking for reviews and such, the discovery 164 is your Penobscot 164.

What sort of tub?