Which Naked Roof Rack

I am new to canoeing. I want to transport one 14 foot canoe on my 2007 Toyota Tacoma 4 door Access Cab 4x4 short six foot bed pickup. I have narrowed the naked cab roof top rack to either the Yakima Q-Tower Single Crossbar Half Pack which includes Y0135 set of 2 Q towers, 1 set of Q clips & 1 crossbar or the Thule 480 Traverse Half Pack Roof Rack System includes two Thule 480 Traverse Feet, #1511 Traverse Fit Kit clips and single 58” load bar. Both products were selected based on the specific make, model and year of my vehicle.

One of these crossbar systems will be installed on the naked cab roof of my pickup to support the front end of the canoe in an inverted position and a hitch mounted 48” wide adjustable upright “T Bar” Ladder/Canoe -Rack-Extender will be used to support the back end of the canoe.

My question is has anyone used either the Yakima or Thule Systems in conjunction with an upright hitch mounted “T Bar” extender and what pros and cons did you experience in the quality of these products, their ease of mounting and capabilities of safely and securely transporting a canoe ?

For that specific vehicle
I recommend the Thule mount. The way it is designed and the shape of the Tacoma’s door, the Thule mount will be more secure than the Yakima one.

I generally prefer Yakima products over Thule, but based on certain vehicle fits, Thule sometime is the better option.

You should have no issue with your single bar and T-bar upright configuration. It’s a common set up.

yup