Which paddle for me?

Hello all!

I’m a beginner kayaker looking for the right paddle. I’ve read all of the online paddle buying guides and most of the reviews I can find, but I’m still having trouble deciding. I was hoping someone could point me in the right direction.

I’m a 5’5" female, 122lbs, using a Wilderness Systems Pamlico 120. I plan on kayaking primarily in slow moving streams, ponds, lakes, and marshes. I primarily use the kayak as a means of transportation for wildlife photography and rarely travel very long distances.

I figure I need either a 220cm or 230cm paddle, but I’m not sure which. As for the paddle itself, I’m having a lot of trouble deciding. I’m looking for something in the $100 range or less (I can upgrade later if needed).

Any suggestions at all? Thanks for your help.

230 Too Long
Just to start. Also, I’ll start the list of people recommending this - go for a better, lighter paddle as soon as you can, even for your first, because a heavy one will really cut into you enjoyment.

when your kayak is 29" wide
i would try a 230 or a 225…any shorter might make you lose your knuckles…

def. try them…def try them in YOUR boat…bring it to a shop if they have a water nearby that you test some paddles on…

weight…i must admit i am a fan of heavier paddles…werner all carbon are WAY too light for me…

try try

try

RS Magic2
A nice, reasonably priced paddle to start out with is the Carlisle RS Magic2. The “2” comes with a slightly smaller diameter shaft for a woman’s smaller hands, and may even be a little lighter over all than the regular Magic. It’s much lighter than the awful heavy flat-bladed entry-level paddles that often come with packages. It’s what I started out with, but recently upgraded to an ONNO, so it’s now my spare. Even for a recreational paddler, the ONNO makes a he** of a difference.

AS for the length, Celia’s suggestion is probably pretty accurate.

Harmony