Which paddle?

Hi, newbie here (both to this board and to kayaking)

I just got a Dagger Specter 15’ and I pick it up tomorrow, I’m psyched!:

http://www.dagger.com/specter-15-0

I’m 5’7" 185#'s (mostly muscle, I swear) and I’ll be paddling mostly in South Florida gradually progressing from calm/flat small water up to bays/close to shore.

So I’m getting the boat tomorrow, but don’t have a paddle yet. My budget is kinda tight, so I’m looking for something ~$100 +/-$20

The two that I’ve been able to narrow it down to are:

$89 Carlisle Magic Plus (available locally)

http://www.carlislepaddles.com/product/kayak_paddles/magic_plus.aspx

$110 Bending Branches Infusion Glass+ (online, shipping included)

http://www.bendingbranches.com/compkayak/ck_infusionglassplus.html

If there are any better paddles in the same range, I’m open to that. It seems that the BB paddle is better since it telescopes from 215-230mm and I have no idea what length is best for me/my boat. But maybe that telescoping feature is prone to failure or something?

Also, the downside to the BB paddle is that I won’t be seeing/feeling it before buying it, and I’d have to wait for shipping before I can take the boat on the maiden voyage.

TIA for any suggestions!

Great!
Enjoy the new boat! I have to say that I don’t know either of these paddles but I’d go with the Carlisle since you can get it locally. You may be able to try one out before you buy it to see what length works best for you. I’d probably start with the 220 which is apparently the shortest for this paddle - but should be a pretty good fit. You won’t be able to try this ordering online, and returning a paddle will get expensive.

welcome to the sport
Paddling is great. You’re going to love it. Have a good time!

Check out AT Paddles
they have a paddle for $99. Totally worth it.

I wouldn’t worry too much

– Last Updated: Apr-25-08 9:42 AM EST –