which solo royalex canoe for me?

im a beginner who has been goofing around in an old town pack. im loving the rivers though, and im planning some multi-day camping/fast-ish water kinda stuff for the coming spring/summer/fall. allready been out twice this year, just did the ipswich river last weekend.

anyway, looking at a more fast water oriented but still kinda universal boat,solo,and it’s gotta be royalex. im about 200 lbs, experienced lightweight camper so i don’t really plan on bringing too much weight. thinking either a mad river freedom solo or a mohawk oddysey, maybe a bell yellowstone solo.

i’d love to hear some opinions. thanks.

Any of those three would be great

– Last Updated: Mar-25-08 12:55 AM EST –

All of those boats are "Just what the doctor ordered" for the conditions you describe. All three are quite maneuverable, yet cruise pretty efficiently. The Freedom Solo has the best gear-hauling ability of the three, but on the other side of the scale, it's also the one which is most-affected by wind. If you pack fairly light, any of these boats will fit the bill. If you pack heavy, the Freedom Solo has the edge. The Yellowstone Solo feels more lively than the Odyssey 14, but I really believe the Odyssey 14 is better at doing a wide variety of maneuvers, and is thus a better all-purpose boat, but that's just what I think (the Odyssey 14 doesn't have the Yellowstone's sticky stern, so it reverses well and doesn't "favor" one end when turning). There are many more people who swear by their Yellowstone Solo than there are who say the same about the Odyssey 14, but either is a good boat for the conditions you describe. All of these boats are "happiest" when paddled from a kneeling position, but sitting works okay too.