Which starter kayak to get?

Summertime greetings, my fellow paddlers!

I’ve been doing kayaking on and off for the past 10 years – always renting. I have finally gotten to the point that I’d want to have my own kayak in order to explore more places, be more independent, save some money in the long run etc…

I’ve been researching into starter level kayaks and narrowed it down to Emotion Glide or Old Town Vapor 10.(based on reviews)

I have found this comparison of the two: http://kayak.pikimal.com/emotion-kayaks-glide-kayak/vs/old-town-vapor-10-kayak

I’d be interested to find out what you guys think of these. I see that Old Town Vapor is heavier and a bit more expensive. I also saw someone offering a used Dagger Zydeco 9 on craigslist for almost the same price as new Emotion Glide. I wish, I knew a bit more about kayaks in order to make a decision…:slight_smile:

Thanks in advance for any input you can make on this!

helll hope all is well with you

– Last Updated: Jun-20-11 2:38 PM EST –

i have the pelican pursuit 100 i love it for what it is a beginners kayak. but i realy wish i skiped this kayak and moved right on to a touring kayak..if i was you id look into touring kayaks. .opps i meant hello not helll lol

a used one

check this site
http://www.kayakacademy.com/pages/store/kayaks.html

Need more info
I do not know enough about boats to advise you but those who do on here would want to know your age, physique, height, weight, type of kayaking you want to do.

Without knowing this I would suggest you find a range of boats to meet your need and searching for a good deal on a used one. Paddle it all as much as you can then demo some boats at the end of the season to find your perfect next boat.

Since you are still learning having access to your own boat will be your best tool. If you get a boat at the right price you should be able to sell it for what you paid for it or a $100 less and paddle all year for next to nothing.

consider a change in perspective