Which thickness of wetsuit needed for paddling on the ocean around the San Francisco Bay Area?

Hi all - I am new to kayaking on the ocean and would like some advice on which thickness of wetsuit to get. I’ve read a bit about it already and the consensus seems to be that the NRS Farmer John’s are a good choice. Not sure about which thickness to get though. I am not planning on doing crazy stuff out there, just on calm days paddle near the beach/shore. I am not the fishing kinda guy so I won’t remain put in the same place on the water for a long time, but rather be actively paddling around most of the time. I live in the San Francisco Bay Area and ocean temps around here are from about 51 in Winter to 61 in summer. Air temps on the coast are from 50 up to 80. Surfers around here wear 4/3s, some 5/4s. I’ve heard good things about the NRS 3.0 Ultra John but I am afraid it will be too warm for paddling. I read people use it in the north of the country during winter. I also of course don’t want to underdress. I have been out on the SF bay and on Tomales Bay and just wore swim trunks and t-shirt (+ PFD of course) which was a bit on the cold side but mostly fine for me even in January. But want to be safe on the ocean which is another beast. I am 5’11", 164lbs and in good physical shape. My yak is a Ocean kayak Malibu XL (sit on top, I usually go out with my wife). Thanks in advance for any input!!

3 mm farmer john style with paddle jacket should cover you for most of the year and in most weather we get. I would strongly recommend getting a farmer john with relief zipper -n the extra $20 or so is well worth it. The paddle jacket will be useful when the winds come up, as neoprene is not good at keeping you warm in a breeze.