Which white water kayak for me?

Hello WW paddlers,

I am new to white water paddling, 5’11" and 197 lbs. I got into kayaking with a 12’ Perception SOT and want to take the next step to a crossover or creek boat. I’ve done some research and the two boats that call to me are Dagger’s Katana 10.4 and the Jackson Karma 9.1. I’d like to get one boat that will handle flat and white water but also have footprint limitations. I need a boat that I can store in my tiny one bedroom home and throw on top of my Honda Civic. I love the crossover skeg for flat water but would love to have a boat under 10 ft. Is there another option?

Cheers,

OdoCaynham

What type of white water?
What type of white water? Class? Type of river? Maybe give examples of rivers you plan to paddle in near future?

Which white watr kayak for me?
Thanks for your reply. I’d like a boat that could handle the Colorado River, class 2-3. I want something that would be a good stable white water starter, but still track decently in flat water.

Whitewater & Tracking
Nearly mutually exclusive traits.

Where do you want your performance? WW or flatwater? The further into the WW addiction the less your likely to car about tracking.

Another aspect is that the more manuverable kayak will will be an excellent guide for honing your forward stroke on the flats for if your paddle exit goes past your pivot point you’ll be off into the circle of doom.

As to WW choices under 10’ = too many to name.

See you on the water,

Marshall

The Connection, Inc.

Hyde Park, NY

www.the-river-connection.com

fb.me/theriverconnection

Which white water kayak for me?
Thank you!

9’ Karma not a bad choice
It tracks fairly well and is forgiving to learn whitewater in. I assume you will be paddling long flat sections of the Colorado, and this will work.

The KarmaRG is a lot longer and paddles really well for covering distance and is a gas in rough water.

Are you paddling lower Colorado in CA/AZ or upper in CO or canyon lands UT/AZ ?