Whitewater For A Big Guy

Hello,

I have kayaked for several years but I am relatively new to whitewater. I am looking for a good WW boat to learn and play in. I’m 6’2, 235 lbs.

Our local outfitter here doesn’t carry anything large enough for me, so I’ll have to drive somewhere or get it online. Any suggestions would be very helpful. Thank you!!

Can’t explain why your dealer is
lacking examples, because things are MUCH better now than they were when I shifted from c-1 to ww kayak in the early 90s. There are some kayaks now (such as the Jackson MegaRocker) that can handle guys in the upper 200s, and there are plenty of good candidates for a guy at your weight.

But rather than recommending anything specific, lemme ask you where you are located and what sort of rivers you hope to paddle. Also, whether you will be mainly running rivers and concentrating on getting through harder and harder rapids upright, or whether you have seen playboaters and would prefer to do that. It’s really a river runner versus creeker versus playboat issue, with each type of kayak having some limitations if asked to perform in the other categories.

For getting started and
up to class II or so, the SOT models are fun. I have two Perception Torrents that hold me fin and I’m 6’1" and about 230lbs. I’ve seen them new for $650 and used as low as $275.

It’s not a serious whitewater boat, but a good started that doesn’t require you learn to roll and it’s a forgiving boat at 31 inches wide. The discontinued Dagger Pegasus is similar but tracks a bit better on the flat sections. Make sure you get thigh braces with any WW SOT.

Just a thought.

jim

Good point