Whitewater Kayaking for Beginner

I have been kayaking on and off for the past ten years but have restricted myself primarily to flat water and sea kayaking. I am now living in Colorado right now and flat water tends to be quite a drive, however, whitewater is in abundance. I currently own a Necky Manitou and have predominantly used this type of kayak for the past four years. I have never tried whitewater kayaying and would like some advice on my first whitewater kayak. I’m about 5’4" and 110lbs and need something that would be both comfortable but also easily carried. Any suggestions.

Where in col do you live? If I was…
…you, I’d look up coloradokayak.com and see

if they can help you.

Or go to www.wildnet.com the US’s Prijon dealers

in the US, located in Boulder(?).

Get a used boat. if youy have to buy, get a used one.

What part of Colorado?
Best thing to do is to take an introduction to whitewater class so you can get a feel for what you want the boat to do and try out some boats. Do you already know hot to roll? There are playboats, downriver boats, creekers etc, so you kind of want to define what rivers/creeks you will be paddling and whether you want to surf at waves and play in holes or just run rivers or do more intense stuff. If you post where you are I think people can suggest spots to take classes. also check out www.boatertalk.com.

Colorado Springs
I am located in Colorado Springs and really don’t want to travel more than a couple of hours to a location, otherwise it becomes an entire weekend trip and I haven’t quite been able to get my husband onboard with whitewater kayaking, he is still mastering flat water. Once he becomes more conmfortable with flat water or gains an interest in whitewater I would be interested in locations throughout Colorado and perhaps Utah.

Thanks

Arkansas River ???