Whitewater Thigh Braces????

Hi,

I am new to whitewater kayaking. I have an older boat…Dagger AQII.

It seems to be a good boat but I have had trouble with the thigh braces.

They are very aggressive and wrap around your knees almost completely. This makes it very difficult to get in and out of the boat----almost impossible. I went ahead and removed them and just brace my knees on the combing.

Is this a common problem with WW Boats? Do many people remove the thigh braces?

One thing I thought of that makes me think about maybe putting them back in is perhaps loosening the back band for entry and exit and then tightening it once you are in the boat. I think this might help. Is this a common practice? Maybe this is what I should have done.

Please advise.

thanks

Matt

Don’t know for sure about the AQII
But for its other older boats (Animas, RPM, Piedra, etc.) Dagger made a less agressive version of the thigh braces. You might check that out. Or, just make some out of minicell foam. Unless the boat is designed to use the inside of the deck for thigh braces (older Riot boats are so designed) you really need some kind of thigh/knee support to be able to adequately control your boat. As to your other question, loosen your back band to get in and out of the boat when launching or landing. Tighten it once you are in. But you should be able to wet exit with the back band tight. If you can’t then it may be that the boat does not fit you.

less aggressive braces
Boats from that era had insanely big/hooked thigh braces.

Measure your cockpit. If it’s 34 x 19, then it’s the standard Dagger mold, and you should be able to order a replacement set of ‘less aggressive’ (Dagger’s name) RPM thigh braces for it. Assuming, of course, that Watermark didn’t cease production of those parts when they bought out Dagger. The RPM is still in production, so I would guess that the braces are still available…

Another option

– Last Updated: Oct-18-04 11:25 AM EST –