Why a fish finder?

Ok, help me out. I’m new to the kayak fishing scene. Most of my fishing has been wading in trout or small mouth streams with a fly rod, or bank fishing with fly rod or spinning rod. Some canoe and row boat fishing, mostly trolling and whatnot.

Really new to fishing from a kayak, or dedicated boat fishing.

Why do folks swear by depth/fish finders?

On most lakes/streams/rivers does it really make that much of a difference?

Should I sweat one if I’ve never really used one, or just stick with what I know?

Thoughts opinions, rants, raves, etc?

Thanks

Just my opinion but here goes!
I have a fish/depth finder. I fish fresh water primarily for bass, northern pike and waleye. I use it about 10% of the time and that’s about it. I use it early in the year to measure water temperature to help me locate where I believe early bass may be and I use it in unfamilair waters to locate underwater structure or if I am fishing for late season walleye and want to find the deeper holes. Hope this helps.

Depends…
If you fish any kind of lake or stream that’s deeper than about 10 feet over significant portions of it, a depth finder is VERY helpful. Much of the time, bottom changes are places that hold fish…drop-offs, submerged creek channels, ledges, old road beds, and even places where the composition of the bottom changes, like from mud to gravel. All of these things will be shown on a good depth finder (IF you know how to read one), along with submerged trees and big rocks and other forms of cover. On smaller rivers, a depth finder is usually of little value, since the water isn’t deep enough that you can’t figure out by reading it where the fish will be.