Why not this Kayak?

Hello all. Im new to all this kayak and rigging stff but am looking forward to starting. I don’t have a lot of money to purchase a kayak. But I want to be able to fish with it on flats and also occasianlly the ocean. Do to the lack of money the best deal I can find is on a Big yak by Ocean Kayak. I can get everything for under $500 but I do not see anyone else rigging this yak up for fishing, is this not a good yak for fishing?>

Here’s the specs:

LENGTH 9’ 8" / 2.9 m

WIDTH 34" / 86.4 cm

SEAT WIDTH 17.75" / 45.1 cm

WEIGHT 47 lbs / 21.3 kg

MAX CAPACITY 250-300 lbs /

113.4 - 136.1 kg

My Specs

Height 5’11

Weight 155 lbs

Any help would be much appreciated and thanks for taking the time in advance.

Pete

My $.02
It could work just fine. It’s a little on the short side so paddling long distances might get a little tiring.

The boat should fit the needs of the paddler. If that fits your needs and budget, then hey, that’s the ideal boat for you!

Mainstream Kingfisher
The Kingfisher is an entry level boat designed for fishing. You should be able to get one in the same price range but open the hatches in good light and check the scuppers as they had some bad runs and the scupper tubes were weak which caused leaks. Otherwise check out the used kayaks in the classifieds on this site. You might also check out some of the dedicated yak fishing sites for info and used boats.

Don’t know if Academy is in your neck