why saltwater w/ sot?

I read another thread from a few years ago regarding canoes vs kayaks for fishing. There were good points, and I feel that I’m pretty familiar with the advantages/disadvantages of each. One thing that seems striking is that people tend to use SOT for the ocean, regardless of whether they use canoes or kayaks elsewhere. Why is this? The only reason I can think of has to do with stability. I’m guessing, maybe wrongly, that a SOT kayak is harder to capsize than a SIK or a canoe. The other is that in a capsize, it seems that holding onto and pushing a SOT kayak to shore would be easier than doing the same with the alternatives. I can’t imagine how doing this with a canoe with float bags would be that much harder, though. Any thoughts? thanks.

Easier to get to everything
I’m far from an expert, but I got to go kayak fishing last week in Sarasota Bay. The SOT is a good choice because of ease of getting to tackle, anchoring, and stability.

I wasn’t in the deep water, but I could let my feet dangle when I got warm and getting off and on a SOT is easier than a SINK. I don’t know that saltwater makes a big difference, but the kayak fishers I saw there were all using SOTs.

A couple reasons
1. SOTs are just easier for fishing, usually.

2. If one fishes the ocean in a SinK, and will be far from shore, then learning a bullet proof roll is important. One does not need to learn a roll in an SOT.

3. If one does have to bail from his/her kayak on an ocean adventure, it is MUCH easier to learn how to recover in an SOT. And, once one has learned to recover, it is much faster to recover in an SOT. The whole first step of emptying out the SinK is avoided, which means you’re in the water less time, even with well learned and well practiced recovery times.

So, it’s basically just a lot faster to learn the survival skills you need and deploy them in an SOT.

• Big D

recovery