Why so unstable?

Hey gang, newbie here…

VERY limited experience. I have done 3-4 rentals on slow rivers and never had a problem. Had a good time so I bought a used beater canoe.

Unusually warm today (water is still cold though) so I thought I would go for the maiden voyage (lake)…lasted about 2 seconds. No exaggeration.

It’s a 12’ sears canoe, I weigh 225#, bought one of those backrest/bleacher seats (right now I’m thinking my center of gravity was too high). I got in backward (sitting in the “front” seat) to get the weight closer to the center. I bought a book on canoeing and believe this was the advice from the author, I’ll look that up in a minute.

First attempt (yes, I’m that dumb) I pushed off with one foot, wobbled then flipped about the time my butt got to the seat.

Second attempt (hey, I was already cold & wet) I put the canoe mostly in, sat down & pushed off with a paddle. Again, wobble-wobble-flip.

Ready to sell after about 4 seconds of canoeing/wading.

Where am I going wrong?

Thanks in advance.

Kevin

It’s partly the canoe. Length affects
stability as well as does width. Can you kneel? I know it may be hard on your ankles, and your feet might not fit under the seat if it’s too low. But if you can kneel, with your butt on the back of the bow seat, you’ll find you can control the sideways set of the boat much better.

A lot of Sears canoes were not all that well designed. If you decide to go for a different solo canoe, try for at least a 14 footer, based on your weight. I could probably edge in and paddle your boat in a seated position, but it doesn’t sound like I would enjoy it. I kneel almost all the time.

Tell us what the boat is made of. Some materials, like the single layer plastic in Ram-X Coleman canoes, tend to leave a boat rather floppy, which does not help balance.