Why such a difference between paddlers

Just an observation:

After reading through all the posts on one of the recent topics here, it’s really highlighted the varying perspectives between many from different groups of paddlers when it comes to safety.

It strikes me as almost remarkable that we are all part of the same family, and I can’t help but wonder why there is such a striking difference.

1. Newbies
  2. Sea Kayakers
  3. Surfski and High Performance

I have at one time or another been a member of all three of these categories.
As a newbie, I was painfully unaware of dangers and safety concerns involved with paddling. I didn’t realize that my wide rec boat without bulkheads could become such a liability in rough water or exposed ocean, had no idea just how dangerous cold water could be, much less how to dress appropriately for immersion, underestimated my visibility to other boat traffic, and was generally oblivious to other concerns. Needless to say, several close calls have been a great teacher over the years.

Sea Kayakers–having spent a fair amount of time sea kayaking and absorbing information through various mediums, I have picked up an intense level of fixation from upper level sea kayakers on the danger involved. There seems to be a heavy emphasis in this sport on rescues, conditional information and overcoming situational concerns.

Surfskiers and High Performance–By contrast, surf skiers seem to almost never be overwhelmingly concerned with safety issues, despite going way out on incredibly tippy boats in conditions that are occasionally totally bananas, often with nothing more than a speedo and a smile.

Aside from the newbie not having enough information, what accounts for such a stark contrast with otherwise very similar boats?