Why use J-hooks instead of Cross bars?

Hi All,

I bought a set of j-hooks to transport my newly acquired kayak, but I wound up transporting it home turned upside down on my crossbars. We drove 5.5 hours with it like that, and it seemed to work very well. We turned it upside down because it is a fishing kayak and it seemed like it would be more aerodynamic like that.

I have a 4runner and the kayak weighs 65 lbs. without the seat. It is not that easy (for me) to get the kayak up to the roof by myself, and it is easier to just slide it onto the cross bars on the roof rather than using the J-hooks. I am in pretty good shape–I did crossfit 4-5 days per week for 2 years–so I think I could learn how ti get it onto the j-hooks. But if it works well on the cross bars, why use the J-hooks? Will sliding it onto the cross scratch the kayak and/or cross bars Why are J-hooks so popular?

Thank you–total noob here.

I use foam blocks on cross bars.
I hooks seem to require higher lifting and more tricky strapping than I care to mess with.

An SOT should be fine upside down on the cross bars.

Pool noodles or pipe insulation on the bars will reduce slipping on the bars.

It’s fine flat
People use J-cradles to get more than one boat on a narrow roof. They do expose the boat to lateral forces from cross winds and the boat sits up pretty high.

If your boat traveled well and safely flat without the cradles, there’s no need to use them. Simple methods have fewer things that can go wrong.

It’s more of a SINK thing
And quantity

1 SOT doesn’t need them.

I hooks allow more boats on short load
bars than if the boats are flat.

sometimes the crossbars put a lot of