Why would I want a Non plastic Kayak?

Ok time to tap into your wisdom folks, I am a covid newbie slowly building a small fleet of Kayaks, I have a feel free 13.5 fishing kayak , a barge but super comfy, a 14.5 foot Riot Edge , which I use the most, a old Dagger Megellan 17.5 foot IIRC that I picked up cheap and may add a Ocean Kayak SOT this week if I like the test paddle. I am looking to add at least one more Kayak this fall, right now a Eddyline Fathom is looking good but somewhat hard to find. I could get a 18 foot eddyline Falcon for cheap but have not tested it yet. All my boats are plastic bc I really do not care about weight, I have a house right on the Delaware Bay so I do not car top, it is open water Kayaking. While searching for used Kayaks I see a fair amount of fiberglass or Kelver ones , am I missing the boat on these, I launch off a beach and am more of a low maintenance paddler in term of care, I rinse them off after every paddle and store them covered but that is it, maybe some 303 to clean them up, I have not really considered a glass boat, not sure it suits my needs, am I missing something, only do day trips , mostly paddle by myself, want my next boat to be under a grand used, I am 54 5’7 190 ish and a crappy paddler but getting better.my min length Kayak is roughly 14 feet bc of where I paddle if that makes a difference. Should I look at gladdest boats or are they to high maintenance for my needs?

Depends on your use, goals, and likes from a hull.

I would strongly suggest you try several different boats. Composite boats tend to be stiffer and lighter then the equivalent in plastic. Also not to sound snobbish, but the composite boats made by P&H, CD, Valley etc…. Are usually (but not always) a little higher quality.

You say weight isn’t an issue, but think about this, the more a boat weighs the more physical effort is required to propel and maneuver the boat.