Wilderness Systems Capehorn 170

Hi, I am new to kayaking so be patient with me. My question is this: I just ordered a Wilderness Systems Capehorn 170 with a rudder from Sierra Trading Post because it was a great deal($767.00 after a 20% coupon I received through email), but like I said I am new to this sport, is this a good kayak for a newbie who wants to spend alot of time in protected waters? How stable can I expect it to be? Thanks in advance for any input.

wow
you certainly put the cart in front of the horse.

what if we told you it was the biggest mistake you could have ever made? How would you feel? but hey, you saved money!

=:-0)

you did OK.

steve

Cart and Horse
I may have put the cart before the horse, but like I said the price was so good that I felt like it would be a great boat to grow into. I was really looking for a good used Cape Lookout 145, I have tried one of these out and really liked it, but then I found the Cape Horn deal. How will the Cape Horn 170 compare to the Cape Lookout 145 in terms of stability?

Cape Horn 170
I have a friends who paddle the Cape Horns, the 170, 150 and 140. They all love them. You paid less for that boat than some of the used ones are selling for(or at least advertised). You did not make a bad choice.

Don’t worry about “stability”. You will get used to what ever you paddle. You might want to get to know the boat and work on your skills before you head out into more challenging conditions. The boat will handle well in most coastal situations if you have the right skills. I have paddled my friend’s 140 in small breaking waves and even found that it surfed decently and was easy to roll. It was a fun boat and handled well without a rudder. Just make sure you get some decent instruction, wear your PFD, know how to wet exit (especially if wearing a spray skirt) and dress for the water temperature (not the air). Have fun with your new boat.

-Nancy

Great input