Wilderness Systems Tarpon quality

Well I’m new to kayaking, and also fishing. I decided on the Tarpon 160i, thinking that would fit the bill the best for me. Also there’s a local dealer of WS here who is really helpfull.

Well after I got my T160 and started using it I noticed a little bit of water was getting into it everytime I went out. Didn’t know if this was normal or not, but after like a gallon of water getting in from 3hrs in calm condition figured it couldn’t be. Finally by filling the kayak with water I found the two front scupper holes had like a hairline crack where the water was leaking.

I called the shop and they ended up getting a replacement from WS a couple weeks later. Finally got this new T160i and it’s worse than the first one. There is a small circular punch about the size of a straw in the same front scupper hole. And to top it off the right leg foot peg is installed backwards facing forward instead of toward the paddler.

I’m really thinking of giving up on Wilderness Sytems after this. Even though it seems like the perfect kayak, it’s not doing any good if they have all these quality control issues. I will say they’re tyring to do a good job by replacing them. But the inconvenience of not having a kayak for several days on more than one occasion is frustrating.

Has anybody else here had similair problems with W.S. or is my case rare? I’m going to ask to see if they’ll let me go with a Ocean Kayak instead, even though I doubt they would.

Most of the SOT’s have the same
problem from time to time. OK had a run of it a couple of years ago. Leaking at the scuppers is not unusual, its one of the weaknesses in the mold process used. On the other hand, its something that usually shows up early and most dealers and kayak companies are more than willing to replace or repair the kayak, assuming repairs can easily be performed. For what it is good at, you’ve one of the better SOT fishing kayaks out there, pretty good for just paddling too.