Wind

Is it me or does wind suck! I’m a novice and just bought my first kayak and everytime I’ve been out this spring I’ve had to fight the wind. It sorta takes the serenity out of being out on the water. At what wind speeds do you guys decide not to paddle in? Should I wait for more ideal conditions to break out the new boat…or am I just being a wimp? I love this sport, and even welcome the challenge of kayaking in wind and chop, but sometimes I just want to go out and enjoy being on the water.

Windy day
I remember my first kayak was a ’ tandem kayak’ that the salesman assured me could be paddled alone. And then there was that one windy day, where I decided to take the kayak out alone ( as i was told I could) Anyway, to make a long story short, I went out, the wind blew me whichever way it was blowing, then the fun part was trying to turn the boat around in the wind. The problem with the tandem boat is that the seat is so far back, that trying to turn into the wind, the whole front end of the boat acts as a sail. And was basically impossible to redirect ( it was very windy). Anyway, there was an island with tall grasses , i was able to duck behind the grasses( which blocked the wind) and then turn the boat in the proper direction, which was now paddling against the wind. And the problem with paddling against the wind, was that I couldnt take a break, because if i stopped paddling, the wind would blow me back to where i started. My arms were killing me, but i was able to eventually make it back to shore.

Bottom line for me, I like relaxing too, so if it is too windy, I stay in very sheltered waters, or just dont go out at all. For me personally, its not worth it. Others love the challenge, and god bless them. SInce then, I have purchased a coventional kayak ( one person) and have not had the same problem since.

It’s you but don’t worry

– Last Updated: May-19-08 7:50 PM EST –