Wind

I just started kayaking and was wondering what i need to do to stay on course when paddling into a crosswind. On windy days i cant seem to stay going in the direction i want to no matter how much i paddle on the opposite side…the wind just blows my bow over.

a few options
It’s fairly common for a kayak to do this (weathercock) – some more than others. The easiest thing if you can is often to drop a rudder or skeg to improve tracking. It’s also very good to learn to edge your boat by lifting a knee and shifting weight a bit toward the opposite butt cheek such that the boat leans toward the wind (though you stay vertical). An edged kayak tends to turn away from the dropped edge side. Another option you can add to that lean is to shift your hands on the paddle such that there is more shaft on the wind side giving a bit of a correction turning away from the wind on each stroke.

i’m no expert but
i have done it, often. i paddle into the wind and bear off toward the direction i want to go, slightly. then i keep paddling mostly toward the wind but let the wind blow me sideways toward my destination. theres a ‘vector’ between toward the wind and your destination that will take you where you want to go.

is your bow turning downwind or upwind?
knowing that will help with the diagnosis.

12 degrees out of head wind.
Talk to some one who has a sail boat. Your kayak is just a very short sail. You can use the wind to help you along. When you have a wind, look at it as a challenge, same as rocks or rapids. Learn to love it all. It is all fun if you let it be.

weather vane
kayaks are like a weathervane.