Wisconsin canoe weekend reco?

Hi all, I need some help with a reco for a Wisconsin canoe trip.

I’m a Wisc Newbie, mostly used to the Southern Missouri and Arkansas rivers.

Looking for a 2-4 day canoe trip on a river in Wisc.

Here’s what I’m looking for:

5hrs or less drive from Chicago

Class II or III

Not too crowded. Serene.

Great scenery. Sandstone cliffs would be a plus

Float camps or primitive camping

Served by a canoe rental with shuttle service

Thanks from a new member here.

Lots of Rivers but
not so many outfitters that I’m aware of. Then again I haven’t had the need to use them.

I’m not familiar with any of the southern Wisconsin Rivers but I believe most are predominantly flat water. Go north and you’ll find plenty of whitewater. Staying within 5 hours of Chicago will get you to quite a few good rivers. For longer trips and larger water try the Wolf or Peshtigo. For smaller rivers try the Popple, Pine or Pike. The Peshtigo has some primative campsites and much is public land where you can camp anyplace you like. No outfitters that I’m aware of though.

The Namekagon and St. Croix may be on the edge of that 5 hr limit but there is lots of water and available outfitters.

You might want to check out the following site for the St, Croix

http://nps.gov/sacn/

The River Alliance of Wisconsin has a good web site with links to other groups and some outfitters.

http://www.wisconsinrivers.org/funonrivers.html

Avoid the “Paddles and Pathways” link, my virus scanner started beeping like crazy when I tried their link.

Not so sure about the St. Croix but none of the other rivers I mentioned have any sandstone bluffs, just lots of granite outcrops, primeval forests, crystal clear water, abundant wildlife and other “natural stuff”…if you like that sort of thing.

Also, pick up the books
"Paddling Northern Wisconsin" and “Paddling Southern Wisconsin” I beleive they are both by Mike Svob