WS Cape Horn 17'

I saw a WS Cape Horn for sale used. I am looking for a sea kayak to paddle on the lakes and creeks in my area in Alabama. I also am looking for a boat to do some overnight camping. I am a female 5’7" and 178Lbs. Would this boat be a good fit? I am new to paddling. Does anyone know anything about this boat? They are asking 799.00 with a skirt, deck bag and cockpit cover.

I look forward to all of your opinions. Thank you.

Nice kayak

– Last Updated: Jun-19-10 7:06 PM EST –

My friend has a Cape Horn and it's a nice kayak. I'm 6' 190 lbs and there was lots of room to move around and stretch. This is different for me since my kayaks are of lower volume. I would have to pad it out for better fit. I didn't peek inside the hatches but I'm betting there's ample room for gear. What I did like about it was it had good tracking and was plenty fast. It turns really well too. The stability is good and you should feel confident in it in no time.

Gary

The Cape Horn 170
might be a little large, i.e. high on the sides of the cockpit and this might interefere with your paddle stroke. You’ll have to try it out to know.

Be sure to read the reviews on www.paddling.net if you haven’t seen those yet.It is a very roomy kayak, but the Cape Horn 170 paddles well and you’ll have a ball. Two of my customers want nothing else when they paddle as the boat fits them well, but each is around 6’ and 190 lbs.

I just sold one with a rudder here in SW Florida for $650 and the people who tried it fell in love with the boat. There’s another in N. Florida for $700 on Craigslist.

You’ll have LOTS of storage room, and be able to learn a great deal from using the boat.

Terry

Yeah… Large
The 15 foot version would probably be a better fit. Paddle some boats before you buy.

I’d suggest Cape Horn 15