WS Tarpon 100

Hello,

I am considering purchasing a Wilderness systems Tarpon 100. This is one of the new 2009 models. I got to test out the boat yesterday, and really enjoyed it. I invision using this boat to fish the local lakes, pond, and rivers. I would also like to take a trip out to the coast, but I have heard a larger boat is required for this. Is this the case? I am a college student, so I barely have the cash to ge the 100, and the the longer tarpons are out of the question. I did try used, but alot of the boats in my area looked pretty beat up. Any help and advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Mike

Keep looking
Don’t know what your budget is or how soon you want your boat but you can find used very easily for a good price if you are willing to wait. I picked up a Tarpon 160i only used twice for $630 last year and a Tarpon 100 for $290 that a guy had won in a radio contest. It was still in the plastic wrapping! Just keep your eyes out check ebay and any other sites that list kayaks for sale. You might get lucky for a lot less than you can buy one from a store. As for the Tarpon 100 I think it is a good boat but seems slow after my 160i

Nice boat
For what you describe, it’s useful.

It is a ‘slow’ boat. It’s designed for the easy to moderate uses you describe. Whoever told you that you want a longer boat for coastal paddling was right on target. You’re not going to want to paddle a 10’ boat on any kind of a big water crossing. Longer boats are available for rent in many coastal regions. However, for what you describe of fishing the banks on ponds and small lakes and running down small to moderate creeks and rivers while fishing, you could do a whole lot worse than a Tarpon 100.

• Big D

WS 100