WS Tempest vs Ocean kayak Sprinter

hello

I am at my final decision. I have 2 choices, maybe the answer is obvious, but I am a beginner.

I can buy:

----brand new Wilderness Systems Tempest 165

http://www.wildernesssystems.com/kayaks/tempest/tempest-165

LENGTH 16’ 6" / 503 cm

WIDTH21.50" / 55 cm

----second hand Ocean kayak Sprinter

http://www.oceankayak.co.nz/kayaks/new/sprinter/

LOA= 5.17m or 17ft.

W=53cm or 21in

The price is similar ( I think the Sprinter is overpriced) but very different kayak, I like the Tempest because it’s a true kayak, I think I can have good control and I can learn a lot.

I had not considered at the beginning the Sprinter because Sin on top, but it could have some advantages: easy self rescue (I am always alone) and maybe in tropical climate a SOT is better, I don’t know.

What do you think?

Thank you very much

about me:

I live in south Thailand, Krabi. The Gulf of Phang Nga (Andaman Sea) is usually quiet , no strong wind, weather is always hot (32 °C /90 °F),many islands.

My average trip with a recreational SOT is 15/20km at average speed 4.5kmh.

I am small size 65kg 1.70mt

Hmm…
Those are two very different boats. How did you narrow it down to those two?

How do the prices compare? 15/20km paddles are pretty darn impressive as an average (just did a 14 mile yesterday and I’m beat!). The Tempest could get it done faster, if that’s something you’re interested in. If you just want to leisurely paddle around and jump in to cool off frequently, then maybe the SOT is better for you. I like the Tempest but my goal is usually to stay dry since it’s not nearly as warm where I live. I might roll to cool off but I don’t leave the boat.

The boats you’ve selected are for two very different purposes, in my opinion.

yep 15/20
ok, 20km is the maximum and I did just once but with a SOT lenght: 9’6"(2.9 m) width: 29"(74.5 cm)

I hope I can double with longer and narrow kayak.