WS Tsunami 120 vs Tsunami 125 (and other

A kayaking newbie here and first post. Like many other beginners, I’ve been researching on the web, talking to sales people, sitting in kayaks… working toward a short list which I’m hoping I can prehaps rent before I buy.

I checked out a WS Tsunami 120 today. I really liked it. Reviews on this site are extremely positive. My size (6’1", 205, size 11 feet) suggest I might be better suited to the Tsunami 125, however, I came across this remark on a dealer website (Frontenac Outfitters http://frontenac-outfitters.com/kayaks/one_boat.cfm?ID=574) which left me in doubt:

“after extensive test paddling by Frontenac Outfitters team members we could ‘NOT’ justify stocking it! Although only slightly wider than its siblings (Tsunami 120 or 140) the 125 is a much more sluggish & less responsive craft.”

Is there anyone who can support or challenge this remark based on personal experience?

Overall comments on my short list would also be appreciated. Intended use is for recreational/day touring on a local slow river perhaps with occassional small lake use. I’m currently looking at a WS Tsunami 120/125, Necky Manitou 13, Riot Enduro EXP or Riot Voyager EXP.

Cheers mates!

Length is inversely proportional

– Last Updated: Jul-31-08 8:20 PM EST –

...to manuverability between 120/125 and 140. Different boats for different tasks. I'm going to the 125 which has a smaller cockpit than the 120 and is less stable.

Decide what you want and get it but Riot would not be one of my choices.

Paddlin' on
Richard

whatever
this company has had a number of remarks, comments and opinions that were…somewhat off track, IMO.

The 125 is going to handle very similar to the 120 BUT built for a bigger paddler. PERIOD.

The 140/145 comparison is another story. 12 vs 14.

steve

Flatpick…
“this company has had a number of remarks, comments and opinions that were…somewhat off track, IMO.”