ww kayak for surf boating.

i have a Pyranha i:3 223 ww kayak for river paddling, but will have much greater opportunity to surf paddle when i move to Victoria in a month.

i know that there are dedicated surf kayaks that are far superior but can anyone speak to the use of this type of ww boat for surfing? the i:3’s are fast as ww boats go and quite friendly, long gradual rocker. it would seem that this is a good cross over but i’m no surf expert. it must be much better than pure playboats.

any thoughts as to which current ww kayaks make for good surf boat cross overs?

Similar But Not the Same
I would strongly suggest you check out an article that addresses the differences between surf-specific kayaks and white water boats. Log into http://www.sopsa.org and go to the Journal page. The article is titled Similar But Not the Same.

It will work to get started
Especially if conditions are not prime, or if you have to launch from rocks etc. There is a guy I know who surfs one, and he has a collection of surf boats and wave skis. Boats with fins will allow you to surf down the line better on steep waves, not a lot of choices for whitewater boats with fins. Techno ? Around here a lot of people start in Necky Rip and Necky Jive (cheap, forgiving). I still like to surf mine although it’s a pig compared to my other boats. A few months ago I surfed with a guy in Drago Rossi squash tail, very cool for a whitewater boat. I would start with what you have. You can move up to a dedicted surf boat after you move out. Keep an eye on boatertalk surf zone and gear swap. You can probably pick up a decent surf dedicated boat for $ 400 -800 US.

pyranha I:3