ww newbie advice: rpm vs booster

Comments in Sing’s post below about a ww all rounder, along with my search of the archives have given me some answers, but it would be reassuring to have some feedback specific to my scenario. Plus, Sing is an already experienced paddler moving up, whereas I’m a rank amateur, so the two situations are not the same. I thank you in advance for reading my LONG post!

I started paddling a little over a year ago and have gone crazy with it. I started with a Dagger Blackwater, and now have bought a used Capella for lakes, a Mohawk Solo 14 for river tripping, and an RPM because I want to learn to roll (figure I’d learn to roll ww and then move to rolling the Capella), and because I want to run some whitewater – meaning up to class III as far as I would imagine.

I took a roll class, but it was 5 hours away and I didn’t hit a roll during the class so I’m still trying to master that on my own. I can roll pretty reliably now with a slightly inflated paddle float, and feel like I’m very close to getting the roll (a sweep roll) with just a tad more practice and perhaps if I can find someone to critique me. In the class they initially had me in an RPM Max but I didn’t have good contact with the boat and hip snaps were hard because I slid around. Perhaps just better outfitting would have solved this, but when I switched to the RPM that felt much better, even though it was a royal pain getting in and out. I was able to pick up a used RPM for just a couple hundred bucks, and figuring it would retain good resale value, I went for it. I hope to get a roll over the winter and then take a ww class in the spring.