Yak Board or Ripper ?

I am new to kayaking and decided to get my own. Due to various conditions in my life, I am limited to an 8’5’’ or shorter kayak.

I am going to be in the Ocean on the Florida South-East Coast and paddling on the intra-coastal, hopefully also doing some fishing. I have paddled the Frenzy on the Ocean and liked it very much.

Based on the reviews and some research I am down to two kayaks and wonder which one would be the better choice - the Ocean Kayak Yak Board or the Wilderness Systems Ripper Kayak. - Any input and sharing of experiences would be appreciated !!!

I have a Ocean Kayak Yak board, and
it is a fun yak to play in surf, but I wouldn’t want to use it for fishing, unless you could outfit the hell out of it, and even then there would be no room for gear, rods, and that really big fish.

Cheers,

jackL

Maybe post some more info …
You might include how much you weigh and your size.

You might also include why it has to be 8.5’ … maybe some of us here could give you creative solutions, if you have a space/storage problem.

The Frenzy is a better boat than either one you mention for paddling. It has a much bigger capacity than the Wildy knock off. The yak board is made to surf, but is not that great of a surf craft. It will paddle around, but you won’t be very happy with it.

more info…
good idea - thanks !!!

I am 5’3", about 123 pounds. Living on the 5th floor, the elevator only allows 8’5" diagonally and unless I keep it on my car, there is no other place to store it. Also VERY small apartment has 8’ ceilings… so 8’ kayak would be ideal.

different tack
I think if I were in that living situation and didn’t want a folder (the ideal), I’d look at one of the displacement hull white water boats, like a creek boat. They aren’t fast, but they are stable and strong. You’ll have to work on your paddling skills regardless as no boat that short is directionally stable.

Bill H.

Yeah …