Yet another question about kayaks please

Hello Everyone,

New poster here. I have been kayaking for about 1 year now and would say I am still a newbie. I own the OT Rush and have quickly outgrown it. I am really considering the Hurricane Tampico 140s as my next upgrade. BTW I am 6.0 ft and 175lbs and in fairly good shape 32 yrs old. I have heard this yak is pretty fast but I am concerned about the trylon material. I plan on taking this mostly on lakes and inter-coastal waterways but if possible may also take it in some creeks (slow moving). Does anyone know anything about this yak with the trylon material? I am not sure how durable it is. I am also open to suggestions of other models or any advice. Thanks!

Jason

Eddyline
Eddyline is better quality, but costs more.

Buy used
Get a longer, about 16ft or longer for lakes. For the twisty slow moving creeks, a decent old scholl white water boat can be had for $100 or so. Don’t limit yourself to 1 boat.

2cents worth
hi…as is the oft repeated advice here try b4 you buy if at all possible. other than that…i have not heard of the trylon’s durability. seen a pic of one that got run over by a jeep …wasn’t pretty. it must have been a painful death!

yet another question about kayaks please
test

yet another question about kayaks please
A longer boat? Really? It’s funny you mentioned that because I was also looking at the Hurricane Tracer which is around 16 ft. I was not sure if this might be overkill or not. I guess another question I originally forgot to ask was how sea worthy is the Tampico 140? Can I get away with a 14 footer at sea? Please keep in mind that I am not planning on any artic expeditions with large areas of open seas…just along the coast and maybe some sounds as I get more experience/confidence in my paddling.

WE HAVE A TRYLON TRACER