Yet another what yak for me question

I’m drooling for a Pygmy kayak. I’m 6’ 245, 11.5 shoe size, 38 x 32 pants. I’m a definite beginner, but I have paddled several plastic boats. The one that fit me the best was a Tsunami 165 although I didn’t feel as locked in as I would have liked. I’ll be paddling larger fresh water lakes in Texas and maybe some rivers. I’m interested in the the Coho, and Murrelet SDC. Another possibility might be the Osprey standard. I don’t plan on kayak surfing, or doing greenland rolls over and over, but want something responsive and challenging enough that I won’t outgrow in a year or two. I’ve analyzed this thing to death so I’m asking for some greater wisdom.

Call

– Last Updated: Dec-05-11 10:40 PM EST –

Pygmy Boats are a good choice. I suggest calling Pygmy yourself - be honest with them about your ability and what you want to do, and they will point you in the right direction and get you in the right boat.

PS that new Murrelet is sweet-looking, it's new to me. The Coho and Osprey are both great boats.

“…maybe some rivers.” Talk to Pygmy
about whether an extra glass layer on the bottom would be helpful. Or, just avoid rivers where there are rocks, ledges, and gravel shallows.

re:Call
Thanks. Sound advice. I’ve emailed them a couple of times and their suggestions were the really big high volume boats or their new Pinguino. I’m big, but not huge and plan on losing another 40 pounds. The Murrelet is a sweet, sexy looking boat, but worried it might be outside my abilities at this time. I sure wish Port Townsend WA was closer.

Pygmy kayaks
I built an Osprey Standard some years ago. The Pygmy kits are well thought-out and they offer good phone support if you run into a snag.

I am a bit smaller than you with a size 10-10 1/2 shoe size and just under 6’ and 200 lbs. The Osprey would have had plenty of foot room and capacity for someone considerably bigger than me.