Your fav kayak accessories/ essentials?

Hi friends :grinning_face_with_smiling_eyes:
Newbie here :wave:t3: I’m still trying to slowly get all the gear to go along with my kayak.
I have so far: the kayak lol :sweat_smile:… sorta need that. Paddles, pfd, whistle, 2 dry bags, anchor, and a waterproof bag for my phone. I also have a track on my kayak and a slot to secure my paddle when I’m not using it on the boats side.

What kind of things do you have and swear by?! :thinking: Fav accessories, items you won’t paddle without? I’m slowly buying them to allocate the cost. I’m purchasing a kayak cart for portaging this week.

I’m more of a recreational kayaker but plan to do trips that require multiple days and camping. So a solid quick set up pop up tent is on my list too.

Please help, you guys always have the best advice :blue_heart::ocean:

Spare paddle. Hard for me to tell if your list includes a spare.

Paddle float because there are all kinds of ways to use the thing beyond self rescue.

Jacket w hood big enough to go over my PFD, keep in the day hatch to pull on in case of a weather change and to wear in a break on land if I need an additional layer.

Good VHF w weather alert - though granted this is more effective on big water

GPS, white light, foghorn, rescue stirrup, neoprene hood (I just wear it around my neck to pull it up if needed), hat w wide brim, rigging gloves, wrist paddle leash, float bags, charts, tow belt, compasses (strap on for the boat w/o a deck mounted one, always one in a PFD pocket), 3 person emergency bivy plus a rolled up emergency blanket, lots of dry bags various sizes, and if camping a big canvas bag to use to carry all the dry bags from boat to camping site. And camping stuff like a compact stove, R factor ground cover for under the tent, lightweight cookware etc.

1 Like

Water bottle - something that won’t roll around. Also a folding saw if I’m on the river.

Your outings must be very different from mine if you use an anchor.