$1000 seakayak

I have been kayaking for about two years, and have decided to upgrade from my recreational kayak this tax season. I figure on spending about a grand (hence the title). I am a bigger guy 240, and will paddle mainly open flat water, or small to medium rivers with little to no current. I would like to be able to paddle out to the barrier islands, about twelve miles off the coast of the mississippi. Can anyone point me in a good direction. Oh, by the way I live in southern Mississippi and there are no kayak shops around so I won’t be able to really test anything.

Prijon Calabria…
…is worth taking a look at.

I second what rroberts said
The Calabria is a fine reliable boat that should fit you.

the cockpit design looks different.

– Last Updated: Jan-02-07 2:43 PM EST –

I am looking to expand my knowledge as well as my boundaries and was looking forward to learning roles. I have a huge cockpit now and and this one looks a little odd to me. Will it afford rolling? Do you think that there is enough storage for an overnighter? Also, what about a skeg or a rutter?

It comes rudder ready, meaning that…
…it’s easy to add one after. (At least I think it’s rudder ready.)

Try it and see, but I’m betting you won’t have any trouble getting out of it.

Looks to me that there would be enough room for

an overnighter.

There is no front bulkhead; only a

– Last Updated: Jan-02-07 3:16 PM EST –

flotation bag. This may be a limiting factor for overnight storage. It is a high volume boat, however, and you will have to judge available space by viewing the boat.

I think the rudder is about $200 extra???

I didn’t even think about a forward
bulkhead. The swells out near the islands get pretty big. I think I would like a forward bulkhead.

There goes your 1000K limit.

It is all about what I can convince my
wife I need for safety. I think a forward bulkhead is important for flotation, not storage. I tend to tip over easy, and as I have said I haven’t learned to role yet.