2 used Kayaks - which is the better boat

I’m looking for a sit in kayak to use where the Housatanic river meets long island sound… there is a nature preserve with calm water across the river from where I live, but crossing the river can be choppy. I am relatively new to kayaking so want something stable but that tracks well. I am female, 5’9 and about 175 lbs.

I have been looking for a used kayak and found these 2 ads on craigslist… any opinions on which is the better kayak? Any key questions to ask the sellers? Are the prices fair?

14.5 perception shadow sea touring kayak - $800

used perception shadow touring kayak; blue, rudder, thigh braces, includes skirt. This boat is AWESOME, but I’m moving to freshwater lake

Wilderness System Tsunami 140 Red in excellent condition, purchase new June 2009,with Seal Coastal Tour Sprayskirt just purchased this year, kayak has phase 3 seating system, slidelock foot brace system, adjustable padded thigh braces, bow and stern bulkheads, rudder ready, always stored inside $850

That is a tough question for anyone,
to answer unless they have had both boats.

My wife has a Perception Shadow, but it is the original one that is 16’-8".

A few years later they started making the Shadow, Eclipse and the Carolina in all different lengths.

for what it is worth, even though she now paddles a QCC, she won’t part with the Shadow, and she races it in rocky down river races a few times a year.

Hopefully you’ get someone to answer you that has had both boats.

Jack L

If only you could try them out…
I have a kayak tours biz and use the Tsunami 140 almost every day. Next to a Romany and Tempest 165, the Tsunami 140 is my clients’ favorite kayak. It would fit you well and it is a stable, comfortable craft that won’t let you down in the conditions you mention. The guy I got it from used it for years, loved it and now paddles an Impex Montauk. He swears that if anything ever happens to the Impex, he wants the Tsunmami back!