61 year old male wants to get into Kayak Racing

I am new to Kayaking. Not even in shape and need to lose weight. But I would like to get into racing. I’m hoping to start in about a year, but I know I won’t be trying my first race in a year. I would appreciate any advice on getting started, exercises, training or how to buy a racing kayak.

Thanks
Jeff

3 Likes

I would start by seeing if you could find the racing folks in your area and starting to make contacts there. They may have clinics or clubs or the like. Let us know where you are and we might have suggestions of local resources.

Along with fitness, you will also need form. You could start taking classes. Given you are new to kayaking, I’d start with basic kayaking class before getting into race specific classes.

2 Likes

Where do you live

1 Like

NE South Carolina. Lots of lakes around here.

Thank you very much!

Indeed, where do you live?
Where are the races, generally? (exposed ocean, protected bay, small river, large river, etc)

You can realistically start racing as soon as you feel mostly comfortable in your local conditions. You wont win or be fast, but who cares? Go out for a personal best each time. Or just go out and enjoy the competition.

Fast boats are skinny, and skinny is tippy. But if you’re not trying to finish on the podium you can paddle almost any legit kayak and have a good time.
How is your balance? and how much desire/tolerance do you have for swimming (while learning to balance?) Many beginners start off in a 24"+ beam boat then work their way down to 19-20". Below 20" does not add much speed to most people, as most people are balance constrained before they are V02 constrained. (and technique constrained for that matter).

Your first goals, IMO, should be -
-Find a local club and go wit with them. You will learn the most from other experienced paddlers.