9' Closed Deck Rec Kayak okay for ocean?

I’m fairly new to kayaking, but have some experience including wet exiting on a white water kayak in a rapid. I am strong and comfortable in with getting a little roughed up or having a kayak flip (i.e. I am not a panic-er). I live on the coast in Santa Barbara (most often surf is quite small and I would only go on calm days). I’d like to get a cheap, small (9ft) kayak that will be easy transport and to mess around in and take short trips along the coastline (not far off shore, 1-2 hours weekday, maybe 4 hrs weekend,~1-6miles range). For the low price I will go with Emotion Glide.

I prefer a closed deck kayak (not sit on top). I know the sit on top is supposed to be better for ocean for safety reasons, but I’m trying to gauge just how unsafe a closed deck will be. My main concern is if you do capsize in the open water (not in a protected flat bay, but still on a calm day and ~50 yds off shore), will the boat really fill a ton of water and sink? Even if has an inflated bag in it? What are the odds of that happening as a result of a flip over? I’m fine with the idea that the boat will be slow on less than flat water, I just want to be sure I am not doing anything deadly and that I completely understand the risk. I was not able to find a lot of info based on reality online so I’m hoping to draw from people’s observations and experiences…so, got any advice or warnings I should be aware of? Thank you very much!

Tours
I think it would make a great deal of sense for you to go on some tours with outfitters in your area. They will know the details of the local paddling, be able to recommend appropriate and safe equipment, reasonable solo destinations, etc.