about plans and copyright

i bought a set of plans from pygmy for a queen charlotte kayak. i studied the plans, read the booklet, learned a bunch of interesting stuff, and then did a redesign. the boat i built has longer and narrower bottom panels, lower sheerline with a different profile, different construction with a sheer clamp, bulkheads and hatches not in the plans. its a lower volume, longer waterline, narrower derivative with some of the look of a queen charlotte. so, just out of curiosity, can i still build a queen charlotte from my plan set? or have i used up my $65? (i thought the money was well spent)

Ask Pygmy
I doubt that anyone here could give you a better answer than Pygmy.

http://www.pygmyboats.com

Dan

http://www.westcoastpaddler.com

cool site : )

Building from plans…
You paid for the plans, you can make as many boats as you like. The problem would come if you used their design to build boats and then sold them. You can make as many as you want for your personal use.

Pat #2

Basic rule of copyright - change it 10%
and it is yours. I was reminded of this rule a few years back by a canoe manufacturer.

It so happens I was reminded again just recently of the rule by two more canoe manufacturers. What a coincidence you asking now.

Of course the final say is the laws and the courts. But if it were not for this basic rule all the boats being made and sold today would be an infringement on someone’s copyright or patent.

It sure sounds like you have changed the design you built far more than 10%. I would say it is free and clear to do with it what ever you wish. You also have the right to build from the plans you bought. But as said if you follow the plans then you are restricted as to what you can and can not do.

Happy Paddl’n!

:^)

Mick

I can just imagine…
…what John Lockwood’s response would be! Remember, this is the nut who thinks he owns exclusive rights to sell stitch-and-glue kayak kits.

Heavily disagree