about rolls, for kayak newbies

I’m new to kayaks, but not to water. I’ve been trying to “edumacate” myself before making the commitment to 'yaking, and I have to say that P.net has been instrumental in all of this for me. But the one issue that my mind keeps returning to is rolling the kayak. I’d like to hear some “real world” testimonies from those of you who have experienced this out in coastal areas. My question is how different

is it to roll a kayak in “seas” while loaded near to capacity, as to learning to roll in a pool or protected waters. What about cold shock? Does simply "dressing for the water temp."prevent this? What’s the simplest piece of gear that will prevent cold shock? Thank you in advance for your replies…

That’s a lot of questions - -
These folks may need some more info.

What kind of boat do you have, or are considering?

How much gear?? Day trip, one night, Multiple nights?

Going with a partner, or Solo?

What kind of equipment do you have?

What kinds of water conditions / locations are you considering?

Learning to roll at a pool session is a good thing. Practicing in the real water is another.

Dude – Coldshock is not issue in SOCAL

– Last Updated: Feb-22-07 11:44 PM EST –

The water never gets colder than 55 F and usually is much warmer. If you practice tipping over you get used to it. Simple training. Also if you wear a helmet and a wet suit, cold shock is minimal. There is a gasp response but you can condition your self not to gasp just by repeated immersions. Rolling a boat in real conditions is harder tha in a swimming pool. If you are really worried about it start out with a sit-on-top kayak. I own 8 kayaks and several are sit on tops, they work great for southern california.

Oh and check out a video called Eric Jackson Rolling and Bracing ... you will find that rolling a kayak is not the big deal it is made out to be.

a couple of thoughts…
My question is how different