about to buy my 1st touring kayak--help

I’ve got a fever…and the prescription is more kayaking. I’ve gotta buy one. Thing is, I’m just a beginner. I’ve only got about 40 hrs worth of time on the water. I’ve been renting different models just to try ‘em on for size. I’ve tried the Prijon Seayak, Current designs Storm GT, and the Necky Looksha 17. So far my favorite is the Storm GT(though the seat could use some improvements. All the kayaks I’ve rented have been rotomoulded poly . I’d love to try a fiberglass model in touring, but nobody around here rents them. I’m worried about spending a large sum of money (for me) on a composite kayak. Can they take the scrapes, bumps and bruises like a poly? Do most manufacturers have a reinforced keel to minimize the srapes? Plus, how can a person confidently buy a kayak by only a sitting test in the showroom, without trying it out on the water 1st? All I’ve heard is that once I try a nice fiberglass kayak, I’ll never look back. I’m 6’ tall, and a slim 175 lbs. I want a rudder—until my paddling skills improve, I like the fact that I can drop the rudder when I need it for extra control and tracking .Any advice from those with ample kayaking experience would be greatly appreciated. I hope to hear from you.

slow down & enjoy the search
Yup - you’ve got the fever alright. At this point, you have to understand that your first boat will not be your last. Your first boat will help you to understand what you’d like & not like in your second. So unless that steal of a deal for a FG boat falls in your lap, you’re talking plastic - especially if you can heft the weight.

Don’t put all your faith into what others think is best for you. My son is 1" shorter than you and 15 pounds lighter and he also likes the Storm - which I think is too big for him. See what I mean? Of course, he does hand-stands and dives off the Storm without a ripple…

I’ve paddled plastic boats for 12 years and have my first FG kayak on order.