Advice for beginner used kayak purchase

We recently purchased a lake home and I would like to find a used kayak. Large damn controlled lake, sometimes choppy but not rough at all. Right now this would be for occasional, recreational use only as we do not live there full time. I need something fairly easy to paddle. In my area the main used kayaks for sale are perception, pelican, sun dolphin and tamarack. I know these are not top tier brands, but as I am a beginner and won’t be going out much now, that’s ok. I’ve come across a Perception Tribute and a Perception Conduit 12 on marketplace that are priced at less than $500 and seem to be in good shape. Curious if anyone has experience with these. I understand that more money means a better experience, but I don’t have that right now. I just want something to enjoy on the lake until I gain more experience and decide if I like it upgrade. Thank you.

You can buy plenty of nice rec kayaks for 500 and less. I’d look for 12’ minimum.

Are you familiar with the Perception tribute or conduit? Both are 12’ and for sale in my area.

1 Like

Perception is a cut above the others you listed, or they were in the past.
Both look like good boats . Not sure about flotation in case they capsize. Per the descriptions, both say it’s positive.
Can you sit in them at a minimum?