Advice on kayak for a tall woman paddler

Hi all, I’m a fairly novice sea kayaker looking to narrow my choices for my first (sea) kayak. I am looking at used boats for budgetary reasons and have wasted a lot of time driving to see boats that don’t fit at all.

The problem seems to be that I’m tall and have long legs (36" inseam) but am fairly slim (I weight about 160). I’m having a hard time finding a boat that I can fit my legs into that isn’t far too big for me in every other way.

I am looking for a boat to take on day trips and some overnighters and would prefer a boat that will let me work on my paddle skills. 16-17’ seems about right.

I have tried going to stores and renting but the selection around here is limited and mostly rec boats.

Thus far I’ve tried a P&H Capella (couldn’t bend my legs at all under the deck, seat was misery on a 4 hour paddle but close to the right width) a WS Tempest 170 (very wide in the seat area, couldn’t edge but legs fit!) and a bunch of plastic Necky boats at a dealer that were all far too small. I used to regularly rent a NW kayak that fit great but unfortunately I did not note the model and that rental place has since gone out of business. I did go to look at another NW kayak last week in hopes it was the same one but it was tiny.

I would much appreciate suggestions from experienced paddlers so that I don’t waste too much time driving all over to look at boats that are entirely unsuitable. There are a couple of older used boats for sale locally that I was avoiding due to age but have been told I should try (a Chinook Aquaterra and a Perception Sealion) and I would particularly appreciate info on those models.

As far as the seat goes…

…the hip area can be padded out with minicell foam. Those of us who WW kayak generally take

the approach that a kayak is just a plastic shell

to which you add minicell.

Probably almost any boat you’re going to find will

need to be padded out, and if it doesn’t, it will