Analyze this video

-- Last Updated: Sep-26-11 2:34 PM EST --

What's your take on this video? Mine - pretty much all strokes were *wrong* at several levels ...

http://youtu.be/_sP2cYu0NX8

If you agree, vote it down on youtube since lots of folks seem to think it is good... Maybe it works for absolute beginners, but anything they learn there would need to be un-learned if they want to take it to the next level...

As soon as I hear the word "proper"
in anything I stop listening.

Agree with onno…

He is screwing up big time !
Nice calm water and he has a PFD on !

Jack L

I am curious
what is wrong with the technique? Take the forward stroke for example. Catch at the feet, rotate and out at the hip seems pretty common in the forward stroke videos I have seen. Can you recommend a better video?

Specifically
He’s mostly arm paddling and a couple of times he puts his shoulders in a vulnerable position. Most instructors emphasize a little more torso rotation. He also pulls the paddle out pretty late on his forward stroke and he could reach forward a little more on the catch.

I’d give him a B
Could have modeled with more extension, rotation, precision, and a quieter upper hand in the sculling draw. But basics were all there. Ok for teaching beginners.

I see
I looked a little closer at the sequence, and yeah, he seems to use his arms a fair amount in the final sequence of the forward stroke.

There seems to be a wide variation in torso rotation in the videos I’ve watched. I have a hard time telling how well I’m rotating when I’m paddling.

Actually watched it
He paddles better than some big star guys I’ve been around.

Video’s fine
He may not be as smooth as a more experienced paddler but he introduced a lot of basics in an easy to understand way.

Sweep
I am a new kayak paddler so won’t comment - but I do have a question. Do most of you agree that the paddle should literally touch the back of the kayak at the end of a sweep stroke?

What’s wrong? What’s NOT wrong…