Anchor choices

I am considering fishing for sturgeon from my kayak. The way this is typically done is to anchor up and present a bait that holds on the bottom. I have been searching for an anchor to use for this and have commonly seen a 1.5 lb. and 3 lb. anchor sold on lots of websites. Would anyone have any experience with these in a river that is between 3’ and 30’ deep with an average flow of 100cfs? I am skeptical if even the heavier anchor would hold, although I admit I have zero experience here. Thanks in advance

I don’t recommend it.
If you’re in a kayak and have the need to anchor in current, you’re placing yourself in a dangerous situation. It’s not that it CAN’T be done, it’s that the risks of capsize and loss (including loss of life when you consider that the anchor line can be like a brown-bag strainer). I would highly recommend using a boat more suited to anchoring if you choose to anchor in current or find an alternative means to stabilize your craft.

There is a book by Jeff Little. I forget the title but it’s something like “My Life In Kayak” or “My Life On A River” and it has many suggestions for boat control of kayaks while fishing in current. Jeff mostly pursues smallmouth bass, but the lessons of current and boat control are universal.

• Big D

are you sure about the cfs rate …
… you posted , or was that a typo ??

I found the cfs
from this website. It lists the mean for July at 89. I added a few just to be cautious. This river is tidally influenced. Is this appear too high or low? Thanks for the response. I was hoping to use an anchor trolly system and place the anchor line at the stern of the boat and fish the area immediately in front of the bow. I just was curious if the 3 pounder would hold. I don’t want to go buy one and try it only to find out it won’t work, I lose the anchor, or I get hurt. Thanks for the response.

Sorry here’s the link
http://waterdata.usgs.gov/nwis/uv/?site_no=12013500&agency_cd=USGS