And now the SPRAYSKIRT...

-- Last Updated: Apr-20-07 8:09 PM EST --

Dear friends, and so we meet again :)

We have had long discussions before and you helped me decide on my WS Tempest 165, my truck rack for the boat, the paddle... All imprtant items.

And now the SpraySkirt! (and also a cockpit cover (1.4), if you have any tips)

What kind of paddling you ask?
Since I am a newbie, it will be very conservative, flat water activity this year, considering time goes so fast. I do plan to learn the roll next winter and hopefully be ready to venture on the ocean next year. I do belong to my local paddling club and I hope to be able to go on overnithers, but I am not sure of that yet.

When? from early spring to late fall. (No Winter paddling in the plans yet)

Where? Here in my area VA (22192), WDC, MD area.

I was planning on getting a SEAL such as these http://www.sealsskirts.com/sprayskirt_tr.html because they are a such a popular brand, but I am hearing rumbles that they are not of quality one would expect.

First of all, I don't know exactly the skirt I really need. The Extreme Tour Sprayskirt http://www.sealsskirts.com/enlarged/tr_extremetour.html seems to be great for winter but too hot for summer. I am not sure, that is why I would appreciate all your tips and help

Neo deck not hot

– Last Updated: Apr-18-07 9:36 PM EST –

Non-urban myth. The tunnel might make a diff - if you get the one with a supplex tunnel it'll breathe. I use that kind of all the ocean kayaking, not a problem with leakage.

I thought that boat took a Seal 1.7, but I could be thinking of the 170. We have a couple Seals Extreme Tour skirts, no complaints about the quality at all. I happen to have had great dealings with SnapDragon though so tend to look there first. I have a couple of the Glacier series.

snapdragon