Another stupid newbie question - Touring in a long fishing kayak?

I’m very new to paddle sports (3 years), please pardon the silly questions. I’ve had 3 kayaks, the current #1 is a Jackson Coosa HD. Love it, so it’s not going anywhere, just thinking of adding to the fleet. The questions below are really related to 'kayak speed". I’ve searched for reviews of touring vs. fishing kayaks, but that has been frustrating. I can’t find direct comparisons of the different categories of kayaks.

I want to make some overnight trips on our large Tennessee lakes (Kentucky, Barkley, Center Hill). I know it would be possible in the Coosa, but…

1. Why are the touring and expedition kayaks all sit-in boats?
  2. Should I look for a longer boat?
  3. Is it ridiculous to think about using the SOT Kraken 15.5 for multi-day trips on inland lakes?
  4. Would a 15.5’ sit-on fishing kayak paddle as fast as a sit-in ?

That last question is based on paddling in a group - If I’m on a 15.5’ Kraken, how often would a 16-17’ sit-in touring kayak be waiting on me? (For reference, I’ll average around 3 mph on flat still water in the Coosa)

Thanks for the replies,
Troy

I am going to leave you with link to articles on this site you should look at. But on the big stuff…

Expedition kayaks have to potentially carry a ton of gear and clothing, and keep it dry. A sit inside kayak is the only type that has enough dry storage. [Later edit - for people who aren’t backpacker light… I was wrong to say it can’t be done. I can’t stay that light.]

Overall a skinnier boat is faster than a wide one. There are additional factors like amount of rocker in the hull, but skinnier will
generally be faster. Skinnier means longer to have the volume the boat needs for stability.

The rest all depend on you, you paddling stroke, how lean you can pack. No hard answers there.

Look on this site, references and articles under Learning in the top line menu. Especially.