Anyone christen their kayak?

Is there any hard and fast rules for this one? I have a name picked out for my new kayak. (no it’s not the Edmund Fitzgerald) I’m a superstitious scientist of sorts and I like the rather traditional idea of a formal boat christening ceromony. Type in Commander Bob in Google and you’ll know what I mean. Besides isn’t this a good time to celebrate or an excuse to drink anyway? Please chime in!

Christening…
Hi!

What a great idea. How will you get it into your church? Are you clergy ok with doing the ceremony?

Ok…just kidding…lol

I didn’t christen my Kayak or my canoe, But I did detail them! Makes them extra special. Plus it’s fun.

So, go on…have a christening party! :slight_smile:

Bubbly
Seems a shame to waste a bottle of Crystali or Dom P bubbly. I say drink the champagne and bust a water balloon on the hull. Save the first battle scar on the boat for a rocky beach landing…

Homebrew on the bow
Once one of my boats does something to earn her name, she gets a homebrew poured on her bow, and her name given.

My Caribou is “Lorelei”, from the German sailors myth (Their version of the Sirens). She got that after getting pitchpoled, bashed on a stone jetty, and still be able to paddle back out & land in heavy surf so I could patch the both of us up to get back to the car.

My WW boat, obviously, is “Rocky”.

My canoe is “Enterprise” (Think James T Kirk)

My Recluse hasn’t told me her name yet. Once I finish the cockpit modifications, her name will probably have something to do with rolling.

And my kayak under construction only has a design name: “Aqissiq”, which is Greenlandic for “Ptarmigan”.

Homebrew is much cheaper than bubbly, and IMO, much tastier!

Wayne

yup
i advised her it was going to be a hard but fulfulling relationship…scratched her hull with a rock, poured some good scotch on her, took a bit myself (mind you it was 8 in the morning…) and then passed the flask about to my friends.