Are hard chimes my problem?

So I’ve been kayaking for a few years and I’ve owned two boats thus far: Current Designs Whistler (14’6" x 24" w/ soft chimes) and Nigel Foster Legend (17’10" x 21" w/ hard chimes).

I sold the Whistler, while it was a good boat for a beginner I wanted something a little faster, and then bought the Foster. When I tested it it felt great and seemed pretty sleek. Since then I’ve come to kind of hate the boat. I kayak on a pretty calm lake the majority of the time just paddling around with some friends and relaxing. I started noticing a problem though, when I stop paddling for a few seconds and if I don’t play complete attention my boat will just start curving one way or another. It’s extremely hard to keep it going in a straight line once I stop paddling and relax. I’ve taken it out several times and find this happens every time to some degree and it never really turns one direction more than the other it’s generally 50/50. I also seem to have to do a lot more corrective paddling to keep on course than I did with the Whistler. Putting the skeg down helps some, but only a little bit. I never had that issue with the Whistler so I’m thinking it’s probably a chime issue (hard vs soft). Am I right?

It’s not the chines
It’s the boat. Caribou has chines and it’s less noticeable . The Legend is one persons design, it may not be yours.

Not chines; probably rocker
Yeah, after I switched from hard tracking boats to boats better suited for manuevering, I noticed the same thing. It makes photography difficult, because you’d like to drift in a straight line while lining up shots and working with the camera. (Ha, it gets much worse shooting pic from a whitewater kayaks.) If your boat has a skeg, put it down when you need to coast. When you take off again, you may find your boat seems sluggish… then remember to flip the skeg up.

Could Be Boat Size, Too

– Last Updated: Aug-03-13 9:04 PM EST –