Avocet, Capella, Romany

Hi folks,

First post, I’m new to kayaking but have been around and in boats, canoes and water for most of my life. I’ve got it bad and want to get my own kayak! I live in central Canada (Sask) a bit south of the shield. There are several lifetimes of beautiful paddling near by. Kayak wise it’s a different story, local dealers are into rec boats and rudders.

I’ve paddled;

WS Sea II (solo)

CD Kestrel 140 (huge cockpit, slug like, not for me)

Necky Manitou 14 (ok little boat, feet don’t fit)

Delta 15.5 (ok fit once in, doesn’t track well in tail and quartering seas and winds. I didn’t use the rudder)

CD Storm GT (nice fit, edges well, best speed and glide of the group, good into wind and waves not so good the other way.)

I didn’t find any of these at all tender or tippy.

I’m 6’1", 165 lbs, size 10 shoe, 34" inseam.

I’m looking for a great all round boat. Mostly day/weekend touring on large lakes and skill development. Currently three boats on the short list. VCP Avocet RM, P&H Capella RM and the NDK Romany S RM. I expect these are all great boats so what’s the problem? They are far away, I’d probably have to spend near half the cost of any one to actually paddle it.

NDK’s quality control makes me nervous with no local support. I found all kinds of accolades for the Romany but little on the RM. It’s interesting the Atlantic Kayak Tours sells all three brands but don’t carry or mention the Romany RM. Comox Valley Kayak’s promised but didn’t return my call about a Romany RM they have in stock. Third Place!

Avocet hatches and deck rigging best the Capella. Seems to be a very high quality plastic boat, perhaps second only to the Capella in that regard. Cockpit at 29.5" long is just long enough for butt first entry.